Next Reading

Maybe I have selective memory, but these are the books I remember us mentioning for what we’d like to read next.

Gibson-Graham: The End of Capitalism (as a segue to their Post-Capitalism?)

Nietzsche: The Birth of Tragedy or something else? Mark mentioned Beyond Good and Evil and The Genealogy of Morals. I mentioned Birth b/c Walter Kaufmann always insists that Nietzsche should be read in order.

Virno: A Grammar of the Multitude

I know there are more but I’m freezing up…let’s post them and other ideas in the comments.

NB: I’m becoming a proponent of trying to keep some sort of thematic momentum going and think it’s something to consider. For example, this summer when we moved from Agamben’s The Coming Community to Thrift, it felt like a pretty hard break, but then Thrift kept talking about Homo Sacer, and that made me think it would have been the perfect bridge between the two. Of course, I didn’t know Nigel was going to pick up on Agamben either…

With that in mind, I realize my selective memory has picked up on themes that apply to my research, and that I’d rather read “source material” like Nietzsche than other people trying to use it, but I’m also thinking about how we could at least move laterally from Holland. An obvious answer is to take up some of the readings on communism that Mark has suggested in the past. Another answer might be the minor marxism Althusser essay/book Holland mentioned (wink!) or Benjamin’s “On Violence.”

I guess, in the end, I’m becoming more interested in depth: I’m picturing it like we throw Eugene’s book into the middle of the table, stare at it, and decide what we have learned from it, where some of those ideas originated and where he went with them, then we either trace back over some of his steps (like Nietzsche preceding/inspiring D&G) or explore other things he mentioned that pique our collective interests. Anyway, just a few ideas. Let us autogest!

9 thoughts on “Next Reading

  1. My tuppence: I agree with Keith that it makes sense to maintain the current thematic momentum. And for that reason, I’d vote for Gibson-Graham and/or Virno. They both seem like they’d fit well into our long- and short-term trajectory, being contemporaries of Agamben, Hardt & Negri, Holland, Thrift, Latour, etc. I’m probably more excited for the Gibson-Graham, only because it seems more accessible (but maybe that’s just me pre-judging the Italian). As for stepping back to “source material” (i.e., Nietzsche), I think it will appeal to me more in a couple years, but my gut reaction right now is less than enthusiastic.

    • i totally missed that post…

      if we’re interested in the virno, i have that book from the library and can scan the chapter, if we can’t find pdfs online.

      maybe throwing out our top 2 choices is helpful; for me:

      1. nietzsche
      2. virno on exodus (this is like 20-25 pgs long; maybe we could pair it w/ benjamin’s “critique of violence,” which is about the same length? that might be a really good way to start the quarter?)

  2. My initial feeling is that I’m interested in ideas, rather than content. While I think thinking about capitalism and post-capitalism might provide a nice segue, I’m more inclined to go to some source material, rather than contemporary articulations. Given my predisposition to a ‘non-linear’ history, I don’t necessary feel compelled to extend an argument that comes out of- or alongside of- Holland. Call me schizophrenic. I’ll say I’m properly Deleuzian.
    I vote Nietzsche.

  3. I like the Virno idea, if only because I think Negri consistently gets it right (moreso than anyone else these days), and Virno is a forerunner/inspiration to the whole H&N enterprise. Gibson-Graham are awesome in the same way Holland is–contemporary, but they are definitely theorists of politics, not empirical reporters. So their content is only in the service of the concepts (like with Holland). Nietzsche is undeniably awesome. To whatever extent the Marx/communism angle in Holland was interesting, don’t forget about Badious or Dean…

  4. Never having read Asti & Spumonti, Hart & Negri, or Dolce & Gabbana, Virno is unchained to anything for me. Which is not a problem. I did hear a bunch of Gibson-Graham at ACSP and am curious about that, I could also be tempted into Nietzsche. I would also be interested in a view of the modernist state, and along those lines I would propose James Scott, Seeing Like a State.

  5. Pingback: Nietzsche’s English psychologists « The Age of Blasphemy

Leave a Reply

