My Desiring-Machines

From the third part of Thus Spoke Zarathustra:

“Verily it is a blessing and not a blasphemy when I teach: ‘Over all things stand the heaven Accident, the heaven Innocence, the heaven Chance, the heaven Prankishness.”

“‘By Chance’ — that is the most ancient nobility of the world, and this I restored to all things: I delivered them from their bondage under Purpose.”

He continues to argue that “a little reason” is “mixed in with all things,” as is a little wisdom. Nevertheless, he still asserts that “this blessed certainty I found in all things: that they would rather dance on the feet of Chance.”

When I finished reading this, I started walking, and the lyrics to the The Books’ song “Smells like content” came rushing into my head. I was lucky enough to see them perform at Neumos years ago and this song was one of the highlights, but…

View original post 338 more words

Leave a Reply

